Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

Thursday, Jul. 17, 2003 | 7:23 PM

The Good, The Bad, and The TOTALLY Ugly

First the big news�

Guess who has an audition at The Encore Lounge, Boston�s #1 Piano Bar? Yes, that�s right. ME!!!!! I just got a message from the lady who books the Roxy (I didn�t even know the Encore Lounge was affiliated with the Roxy, did you?) I AM SO FUCKING PSYCHED!!!!!

I have to call her back tomorrow to set a date!!!! WOO HOO!!!! (Funny �cause I�m actually going there for Open Mic night tomorrow.)

Most likely it�ll be next Saturday evening�I�ll clue y�all in when I know for certain. And then you can come out and scream my name and throw your panties at me, so the management will have no choice but to book me for one solid night a week�that�s highly unlikely, but still a possibility.

In other career news, the Theatre Company I did Cabaret with will be announcing its Fall Drama and Spring musical within the next couple weeks.

I�ve heard all kinds of rumors about the drama�some good, some bad. Amongst the good were Six Degrees of Separation, Who�s Afraid of Virginia Wolfe, and Noises Off-- all of which are wonderful shows, and all of which have characters I could play. Virginia Wolfe and Six Degrees both actually have roles I�m fucking dying to play�Martha And Louisa Kittredge respectively. I spent the better part of three hours studying Six Degrees tonight, and I feel I have such a thorough understanding of �Ouisa�I can hear her voice in my head�I get her intrinsically. Shit I hope they decide to do that show.

The only bad rumor I�ve heard is Brighton Beach Memoirs, which isn�t a terrible piece or anything�in fact, it�s a decent play. But it�s sooooooo overdone and bordering dangerously on sentimentality. It�s just such an un-risky safe cop out choice, and I�m really hoping they don�t do it.

Besides my aforementioned concerns about Mr. Simon�s opus, I�m not all that gung ho about any of the female characters. There are two I could see myself being cast as�one of whom is a realist put upon mother type similar to the role I played in Cabaret (but not nearly as interesting) and the other is a boring meek widower. Blah.

If that�s the show they decide to do, I�ll most likely try out anyway�just because it�s such a blast to be a part of any theatrical production, and because I know, love, and respect the folks who are putting it on.

But I really fucking hope they go another way.

***

So.

It�s a couple hours later and I just came back from looking at an apartment.

Now, I haven�t in any way, shape, or form made up my mind as to whether I�m definitely going to move or not. But in the interest of paying off every last cent of my debt in the most timely manner possible, taking a room in a cheaper living situation is an option I am exploring.

The apartment I just saw was a six bedroom house. The bedroom I would be taking is huge. And it�s only $550/month. The house is super spacious, it�s convenient to everything I need it to be convenient to, and it�s occupied by queer friendly, socially and politically liberal women who dig indie rock and jazz, smoke, drink, and appreciate the same art/film/literature as I do. All well and good.

But�

Why do I have such a weird feeling about it?

There�s a couple of issues that I find mildly unsettling. The first is that two of its residents have been a couple for three years, and only recently broke up. I have been told that there is absolutely no drama concerning this situation whatsoever. That they�re �best friends� and everything is just fine. But the thing is, I�ve been in that situation before (as one member of a recently parted couple who live together) and although they may think everything�s all roses and tangerines, I�m concerned that the two of them just in the honeymoon stages of the break-up phase. I can only go by my own experience of course, and I�m sure there are couples who end their relationships with complete amicability and embark on an easy friendship. But I have this nagging sense that there�s something rotten in the state of Denmark. I�m couple gun shy. Having been on both ends of the living situation spectrum, as an innocent bystander and part of a dangerous duo, I feel these situations are pretty volatile, and although I�m sure the two of them really believe everything is just dandy as candy (hell�I would�ve said the exact same thing when I was in their shoes) I fear they don�t actually know what the fuck they�re talking about. What happens when one of them starts dating someone else? What happens (God forbid) if one of them starts dating another roommate? I have no desire to be in the cross fire of that fucking mess. And I�d rather avoid any possibility of being in such a situation.

The other concern I have is that the �head� roomie (who has lived in the house for seven years) is currently unemployed, having been recently laid off from her job. Now, I�ve been there too. And I�m not discriminating against her because I know how much that sucks. But I also know what a fucking drama unemployment can be, and how it brings out the nastiest characteristics of those it�s visited upon. On the plus side, the girl has lived there for years and years, and she does seem incredibly responsible�I�m not concerned about the monetary aspects of the situation, only the emotional ones. After having had a solid year of stress free no drama dwelling, I don�t want to trade my peace of mind for anything�even a cheap house.

Gah. Decisions, decisions. Why must everything be so fucking difficult?

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.