Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

Monday, Jul. 28, 2003 | 9:11 AM

Bragging Rites

On Saturday I had an audition at The Encore Lounge. I was supposed to sing three songs.

I wound up singing half the evening.

I think I ascended to another level artistically on Saturday. Some element of self consciousness was stripped away. I knew how fucking good I was. I was so good, that I actually pulled people in off the street every time I started singing. The windows were open and people could hear me as they walked by. Out of the corner of my eye I could see them stop in their tracks and turn around, walk in the hotel and into the bar. I have never seen that place so crowded before. People were standing in the back, just watching.

I sang Summertime and The Lady is a Tramp. I sang Hey Big Spender (one of the most sexualized raunchy versions of that song ever performed�Three men sent me up drinks after that one.) I did a swing/scat version of I Get A Kick Out of You. I took requests from people. I did a total Liza Minelli version of Maybe This Time that people gave me a standing ovation for.

And the best of all, I sang the Blues. I made up a song right on the spot�an amalgamation of Kansas City, Sweet Home Chicago , In The Pines, and Your Feets Too Big with my own make believe nonsensical pun filled lyrics thrown in whenever I thought of something good. And I sang the damned song for twenty minutes. Every time I�d try to end it, the audience would shout Keep Going! and the pianist would yell,

One more verse!

And so I�d go on, and heighten it more and more, and I got more and more into it physically. I threw my whole body into the blues. And I suddenly had an intuitive understanding of how to improvise musically. People were screaming and shouting, like it was a revival meeting It was better than sex.

It was one of the finest moments of my entire life.

And then it got better.

After I finished the blues song, who should run up to me but Ivy. She�d gotten there right when I started singing the song, but I hadn�t noticed her. I was so happy I kissed her full on the mouth right in front of everyone. I spent the rest of the evening being goofy with her and alternately being called back up to the mic to sing again. I closed the place down.

Ivy was with some peeps from out of town whom she was entertaining, so unfortunately I couldn�t take her home. But I am seeing her tonight. The peeps were very nice Indie Rock Types, and so I played the indie game. We talked about the phenomen9on of terrible bands with fantastic names, and vice versa. And how band names have contexts which are important�(i.e. Bikini Kill would be a really upsetting name if the band played Lita Ford type metal lite)

At the end of the night, I went home to my spiffy place and listened to a voice message from Angus which was so beautiful I cried (OK�part of it was that I was a touch tipsy, but it really was one of the sweetest things I�ve ever heard.) And I watched some Felicity episodes. Then finally after I�d calmed down enough, I went to bed.

I�m just going to reiterate once again how much I love my life right now. I feel like I�m living my greatest fantasy and it�s just obscene how lucky I am.

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.