Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

January 28, 2003 | 2:44 PM

Gone but I don't know where

I was going through some old stuff last night and I found a copy of a letter I wrote to someone six or seven months ago. It was so damned prophetic�almost as though my life was a novel and I managed to skip to the last page to find out how everything would turn out.

It�s weird how you can know something and then forget you know it, or convince yourself you were wrong. I�ve done that so many times. Whenever I tell myself to �listen to reason� and disregard my feelings, I�m usually telling myself that rather than trusting my own gut instinct I should believe what someone else is telling me. Thing is, I�m not (basically) an unreasonable person and my gut instinct is pretty dead on.

***


I�ve listened to lots and lots and LOTS of Aimee Mann this past week and a half. Especially the new album. God it fucking kills me. I wish I could turn off the lights in my office, pull down the shade and listen to it right now in the dark with a glass of chianti and a long European cigarette.

Her phrasing is so fucking perfect. That whole album hangs together like a spider�s web�each song intricately connected and well crafted. Delicate and complex, yet strikingly plain.

Yeah so I�m going to be lame and list a bunch of the lyrics to Aimee songs that have really hit home over the past couple weeks. If you haven�t listened to this record as a whole (it�s meant to be played from beginning to end) then you should. I suggest getting rid of all other distractions, and sitting on your bed for an hour while the music overtakes you. Really, it�s better than therapy. Lost in Space says more about the human condition, more about obsession and addiction and loss and fucked up relationships than any other record I�ve ever listened to. Hands down.

And without further ado, here�s a couple songs that have said far more poetically and astutely how I�ve been feeling lately:

Invisible Ink


There comes a time when you swim or sink
So I jumped in the drink
Cuz I couldn't make myself clear

Maybe I wrote in invisible ink
Oh I've tried to think
How I could have made it appear

But another illustration is wasted
Cuz the results are the same
I feel like a ghost who's trying to move your hands
over some Ouija board in the hopes I can spell out my name

What some take for magic at first glance
Is just sleight of hand depending on what you believe
Something gets lost when you translate
It's hard to keep straight
Perspective is everything

And I know now which is which and what angle I oughta look at it from
I suppose I should be happy to be misread-
Better be that than some of the other things I have become

But nobody wants to hear this tale
The plot is clich�d, the jokes are stale
And baby we've all heard it all before
Oh i could get specific but
Nobody needs a catalog
With details of love I can't sell anymore

And aside from that, this chain of reaction
baby, is losing a link
Though I'd hope you'd know what I tried to tell you
And if you don't I could draw you a picture in invisible ink



Real Bad News


You don't know, so don't say you do �
You don't.
You might think that things will change,
But take my word --
They won't
You paint a lovely picture,
But reality intrudes
With a message for you
And it's real bad news

I was undecided like you at first
But I could not stem the tide of overwhelm and thirst
You try to keep it going, but a lot of avenues
Just aren't open to you
when you're real bad news

I've got love and anger
They come as a pair
You can take your chances
But buyer beware
And I won't make you feel bad
When I show you this big ball of sad isn't worth even filling with air

And baby, let me tell you
You can get some things confused
Like whose secrets are whose
And that's real bad news

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.