Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

October 11, 2002 | 10:41 AM

Girls who are boys who like boys who are girls...

I wanna say first off that I love men. I truly do. Most of my really close friends are men and I treasure them. I can think of a dozen men off the top of my head who are amazing friends whom I love and respect.

The key word being friends.

Basically what I want answered is the greatest cliche of all time-- what the fuck is up with men and relationships?

In the past two days I�ve had conversations with several close girl friends of mine about men being jerks in the context of �romantic relationships�. The men in question who are behaving like jerks are actually really good guys (at least I can vouch for the ones that I know personally.) But they�re just clueless once they become �boyfriends�. I mean, why is that? Why are men so absolutely amazing to hang out with and drink with and go to record stores with and have sex with, but the second you�re �involved� with them, they all become idiots? Ok I�m generalizing�not all men, obviously. And I�m not saying that women can�t be jerks too. I know they can. I know I�ve certainly been a big jerk in the past in various ways-- nagging, yelling, sulking, etc.

But the kinds of shit men pull just boggles my mind. For example, saying one thing and doing another, cheating, not being able to make up your mind, loving you one day and ignoring you the next, always looking out for some more pussy, being resentful of being tied down, not responding to emails and phonecalls, etc. etc. I just don�t get it.

And I know that women can behave in a similar fashion, but it seems like women who behave in the manner I just mentioned actually are jerks, usually reviled by their own sex�manipulative and generally uncaring. Whereas the men who act like this are often really great guys who suddenly turn into bastards once you date them. Does this change as men get older? Please tell me that it does. Because I�m seriously ready to throw in the towel and join a convent.

I know I�m generalizing and I expect to get guestbook messages about how people are people and you can�t pin one set of behaviors on one half of the human race and sanctify the other�how that�s just a stereotype blah blah blah. And to that I say, obviously it�s a stereotype. Obviously not all men are one way and all women another. But I�m just noting general trends that I�ve seen in people I know, and I find it really disturbing.

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.