Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

June 18, 2002 | 9:43 AM

Handel, Haydn, and Swordfish Trombones

The reason I decided to get a second job for the summer is that I want to be able to decorate my apartment and purchase all the things I �need� for it (new record player, framed posters, shower curtain, etc.) without putting myself in the poor house.

So I got a gig working at a non-profit organization that promotes baroque and classical music. It�s just a couple of nights a week and I am proud that I have not faltered in my quest to never again work anywhere the mission of which is solely to make money. I am very excited to be a part of this association though, and I really thank my lucky stars that I have had such outstanding good luck since I left The Stupid Company as far as jobs are concerned.

My first night at my new summer job was yesterday. The evening consisted of sitting in a comfortable chair, snacking on pretzels and blue corn chips, listening to Bach, Beethoven, Mendelsohn, and Mozart, betwixt and between hearing a lecture on baroque and classical music given by one of Boston�s leading music historians.

I got paid to do this.

I would have gone for free.

No scratch that�I would have paid to listen to this guy talk. He was amazing.

I cannot believe how lucky I am that this job is so fucking awesome. The only thing that worries me is that all the other employees there are classical musicians or scholars and I happen to know an OK decent amount about classical music because my father was a huge fan and because I took a couple college courses, but I don�t have nearly the breadth of knowledge that these people have. When they would get into conversations about different composers, they would mention all of these ridiculously obscure people I had never even heard of and would speak in musical language that I couldn�t understand. It was fascinating and also kind of scary.

When my father was alive, there was always music playing in our house. If it wasn�t the Beatles it was Dizzy Gillespie or Beethoven.

My taste in �classical� music tends more toward the romantic period�Chopin, Schostokoitch, Schuman, Debussey. All those dreamy eyed codgers. Although I love Beethoven as well.

Anyway, after work I took a walk in the pouring rain while listening to Tom Waites Swordfish Trombones. It was almost 10:00 and pitch black out, except for when lightening would slash across the sky.

I arrived home tired and satisfied and made myself a cup of tea and passed out watching Law & Order.

It was indeed a very good night.

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.