Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

December 17, 2001 | 7:45 PM

Murder of the muse

I used to write poetry all the time. I would fill a notebook a week with poetry. I didn't care whether the poems were good or bad or intelligible or self indulgent. I just loved to write them and they spilled out of me onto the page as easily as sunslight spills to the earth on a clear June morning.

I carried a notebook everywhere I went. I had one on my bedside table in case I woke up in the middle of the night with a new poem itching to find its way onto paper.

I even had a chapbook published when I was 18 by a small press called Centering Publications in the town where I grew up. The book was called, "Peripheral Blues in Static and Other Poems". It was anxty Bukowsian type stuff, but it definitely wasn't bad for an 18 year old suburbanite girl.

I don't think I can express to you how much joy writing poetry brought me. Prose was always somewhat of a struggle-- having to organize my thoughts took so much discipline, but for me poetry was wholy (holy?)intuitive.

Just so you know what I'm talking about, here's a couple of things I wrote when I was 16 or 17:

Bad Java Life

We cling to our chipped morality

like a cup without a saucer

filled to the convex brim

with decaffeinated dreams,

lukewarm chaos,

swirling in uniformity

in bitterness

knocking our heads on

random sugar cubes

***

For Leah

There is a sickness in my soul like lead;

a blush burned out,

an emptiness negated.

There is a sickness slithering

listless through my veins filmed in black and white

and it glides without a sound

like geese leaving a lake

There is a sickness half passed winter

Separate as a mannequin from self

yet self possessed

and shrouded in a cloud of smiles

***

Yes, I know it's not amazing or anything; I know I was no W.H. Auden but I was good. My work showed promise. And it was effortless.

And then it left me. And I haven't been able to write a poem since (unless you count song lyrics but I don't-- I consider that an entirely different art form)

When I was twenty years old several things happened in quick succession. I got kicked out of school. My mom kicked me out of the house. I had an abortion. I was for all practical purposes broke and homeless and a burden to everyone I knew.

And some fundamental bedrock of confidence that I had in my own voice was shaken and a fault line formed between my left and right brain, between my soul and my body, between my heart and my mind.

The poems stopped coming

Slowly but surely I clawed my way back to respectability. I am the lead singer of a band (The Sorry Jar). I work at Harvard. I am decidely middle class.

But...

The poems stopped coming.

And they never came again.

Oh, I tried to force them, but it wasn't the same. They were gone. The well had dried up.

I still have unimaginable grief over this. It won't go away. It hurts in a way that nothing else has ever ever hurt.

Well... now I want a drink.

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.