Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

October 04, 2002 | 9:12 AM

I can't stop smiling long enough to pretend to sympathize

I have an awfully busy weekend ahead.

This afternoon I have another hydrotherapy appointment, for which I (big new age geek that I am) am really psyched. Then later tonight I am going to this boy�s going away party at Debbie and Josh�s house.

Tomorrow, Debbie and Tara and Debbie�s friends from out of town (one a diaryland person no less!) are going karaoke-ing.

And on Sunday, my ex and I are going to a reception for our friend Joe whose new book about the history of rock �n� roll will be at a Borders near you in the next few weeks.

I am going to shamelessly plug this book for a moment, as I read a bunch of the manuscript and it is brilliant. If you like Lester Bangs you will love Joe Harrington. Joe writes for the New York Press and he did some great stuff for Rollerderby and Magnet. He is truly a genius and one of the funniest fucking human beings on the planet, as well as one of the most insightful and well versed. He has great taste, a massive record collection, an open mind, and a razor sharp wit. So buy his book, god damn�t. That�s an order.

Besides all the fun and games, I have an eight page paper to write, a prom to plan (Tara and Debbie�time must be found over the next several days to get this shit together), laundry to wash, music to listen to, the new Beck album to buy, yoga, eyebrow plucking, and diary entries to write. Things I would like to fit in but don�t know if I will be able to are as follows: finishing You Must Remember This by Joyce Carol Oats, watching Sunshine and Ghostworld, masturbating, and coming up with a sensible eating plan for when I get off the cleanse. I am thinking I will try Tara�s idea of three parts fruit and veggies, one part meat/protein. That sounds pretty good to me.

So all in all, my weekend is booked.

This is the song that is in my head and which seems entirely appropriate.

I can't stop smiling and I don�t know why I want to anyway
So many times before I could hardly even force one to my face
I'll trade you a smile for a shake
I know that�s something you just can't fake
It could mean nothing
It could mean nothing, it could mean everything
When you started playing rough
Fit you like a boxing glove
Can't stop smiling long enough to say
I can't stop smiling long enough to pretend to sympathize
Only months ago you would never even take the time to write
I feel great no matter what you say
I'm not listening anyway
So tell me something
So tell me something, I can do anything
Show me that I'm wrong enough
Need to know that kind of stuff
Can't stop smiling long enough today

--Velocity Girl

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.