Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

July 25, 2002 | 10:17 AM

Getting my drink and my snarl on

I was having a nightmare about fire. And books burning. And funerals. The dream was silent save for the constant unwavering wail of a siren that bleeped and whirred its flat line symphony to accompany the destruction and ruin.

And then I realized the siren was real.

It was my alarm. And it had been going off for over an hour.

I rolled out of bed and threw on a bra and a dress and shoes. I brushed my teeth and rolled a thick layer of deodorant over my stubly arm pits. Instead of combing my hair, I tied it back in a tight bun.

Mouth wash. Body lotion. Desperate swigs of Diet Pepsi.

I ran out the door.

I asked myself aloud as I stumbled toward the bus stop,

Why do I feel like a tractor rolled over my skull?

And then I remembered.

Oh yeah�I stayed up until 3:00 AM drinking beer.

I don�t even really like beer that much.

Gee Anna, why did you do it, then?

Well, there are a couple of reasons.

The first reason is that I wanted to celebrate with John and Jenn the acquisition of their new apartment.

And the second is that I am just plain stupid.

The evening began well. The three of us were in high spirits. I listened to John and Jenn discuss their new abode and moving arrangements and so forth.

And they listened to me talk about mine.

And then John and I played music together, which we hadn�t done since our last show. And we changed things up by switching the vocal parts of all our songs. So I sang lead on Somerville and John sang lead on Newberry Street and though it started as a light hearted exercise, it was actually a metaphysical Freaky Friday moment where I saw the immediate world of each song from his point of view. Being privy to a new perspective on our own creativity and reaching a greater level of empathy for John was illuminating and awakening and all kinds of other adjectives for wonderful.

And then Jenn went to bed. And it was just John and I alone drinking together.

And things got strange and hazy and hurtful.

I don�t remember a lot.

I remember opening my 11th(?) Magic Hat #9 and saying,

When we leave this apartment, I think it would be a great idea for us to spend some significant time away from each other. I think we both really need that.

And John opened his 12th(?) Amstel light and nodded in a agreement.

I definitely agree with that. I think that would be really good for both of us

And I smiled and said,

At this point I want to feel like we have ascended to some different space in terms of relating to one another. I want to not have all of these hurt feelings and anger. I want to be open to whatever occurs naturally between us, whether it�s nothing and this is the end or we just become casual acquaintances or really close friends, or... or... something else...

And that�s where things went wrong.

John snorted into his beer and shook his head vehemently no. And he said,

No dude, never again.

Meaning, I will never date you/have sex with you/be romantically involved with you ever again.

And having made that statement myself so many times in regards to him, I don�t know what it was that stung me so much. Maybe it was the drink. Maybe it was the way he shuddered at the thought.

It was a dagger in my heart.

Which I in turn pulled from myself and stabbed in his back several times.

Subtle. Snide little nasty comments from the wounded peanut gallery. And every time I made them I hated me for being so small and mean. And I asked myself,

Why am I saying this? Why am I being so scathing and nasty?

I swear to God, Sam Coombs has nothing on me when I�ve got my snarl on. You wouldn�t know it unless you�ve hurt me or I feel threatened by you, but I can be mercilessly cruel. And I was.

I don�t remember what I said. I just remember how it felt to say it. And it felt raw and rotten and low and ill.

I do not like my state of mind;

I'm bitter, querulous, unkind.

I hate my legs, I hate my hands,

I do not yearn for lovelier lands.

I dread the dawn's recurrent light;

I hate to go to bed at night.

I snoot at simple, earnest folk.

I cannot take the gentlest joke.

I find no peace in paint or type.

My world is but a lot of tripe.

I'm disillusioned, empty-breasted.

For what I think, I'd be arrested.

I am not sick. I am not well.

My quondam dreams are shot to hell.

My soul is crushed, my spirit sore:

I do not like me any more.

I cavil, quarrel, grumble, grouse.

I ponder on the narrow house.

I shudder at the thought of men.

I'm due to fall in love again.

-- Dorothy Parker

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.