Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

May 23, 2002 | 2:13 PM

Chomsky, Dennett, prozack, and ass kicking

I just finished my paper on the Chomsky-Dennett debate, and I am actually really proud of it. I was so nervous about this paper, and put off writing it forever, but as I was writing it I became kind of inspired.

Anyway, here�s an excerpt from my paper:

Although I agree with Dennett that all problems will ultimately have a scientific solution or explanation, and I agree that there are no real mysteries that can�t be uncovered by science, I disagree with the implication that natural selection is a metaphysical force which has enough inherent creative authority to dictate design. The process of natural selection may be a cog in the machine of a greater scientific scheme, and merely a method of balancing the evolutionary checkbook, detailing the various ways in which nature has transformed and metamorphosed. Dennett infuses Darwinism with a poetry that it doesn�t deserve. It is my opinion that when we truly understand the origin of language or the origin of the species, we will do so in terms of physics, quite possibly at the quantum mechanical level, and that natural selection will be identified merely as a means of the universe keeping track of a greater physical design.

In other words, although natural selection may be the process by which all matter of naturalistic and humanistic problems may be explained, it is not also the creative spark by which such a process is kicked into motion. That spark is still a �mystery� at present, although as scientists continue to break down physical particles to their core truths, we shall indeed learn what that spark is.

God I can be such a pompous asshole!

Who�s the queen of metaphysics? Who can take Descartes in a fist fight? ME, that�s who. I want you to bring on all yer dead white philosophy men so I can kick �em to Timbucktu.

Now I am DONE with my metaphysics class. And I am off for a few days to chill with my family in Rochacha and probably participate in some mystical new age self discovery exercises. WOO HOO!!!!!!!

I�m really going to miss school this summer. But next semester I�ll take two or three courses. There are so many good ones to choose from. Yo, I feel like such a Pollyanna. I used to be such a school slacker, but now that I�m older, school to me is an awesome night out. Why wouldn�t you want to spend your evening arguing about creationism? Why wouldn�t you want to go home later and swig cheap wine from the bottle while studying logarithms?

SCHOOL IS THE BEST.

Well coolsters, I�ll be in Rochester �til Tuesday night. I may be updating but I may not be.

I�m in the best mood right now, which is ironic, since in two minutes I�ll be heading off to my shrink for an antidepressant prescription.

You gotta, you know, have some insurance against despair.

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.