Wilkomen, bienvenue! All our yesterdays Leave your name, number and a brief message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible VIP room for members only Love letters/Hate Mail Links, etc.

December 12, 2001 | 10:52 AM

Fashion Rant

Will someone one please please PLEASE tell me why there are no god damned (cool) plus size clothing stores in the entire Boston area?

This past weekend when SMcGraw and Shana were up we went to H&M and having bought a whole bunch of clothes from their New York City location, I just assumed they would have larger sizes.

After wandering aimlessly around the store for ten minutes, I finally asked a sales person (a really skinny size 2 chick with blue eye shadow and a belly shirt) where the plus size aisle was.

Oh, I'm sorry. We don't have a section for...er... larger women

she said with a smirk.

Plus size clothing isn't a large market anywhere (excuse the pun), but in Boston it is non-existent. i mean, hello-- I see heavier women on the street and on the subway and in clubs and bars all over the city, and we are being totally ignored.

It pisses me off that no matter how good I feel about myself, the simple act of shopping will turn me into an insecure 14 year old again. I mean, when I go into every store on the fucking block and none of them have my size, it's like the entire fashion community is purposefully trying to remind me that I am not worth their time. This is doubly irritating because I know I am part of a marketing demographic that could be exploited. In other words, it is more important to the fashion industry to ignore me and others like me than it is make money. The fact that the fashion industry iugnores plus size women is a pointed political statement of omission.

Fashion is supposed to be about art and self expression, but the whole industry is run by a bunch of pro anorexia, anti woman fascists. Who designs cool indie clothes for real women? All women are beautiful so why can't all women have beautiful clothes if they so desire?

Most stores that do carry plus size clothing turn out the drabbest most ridiculous garb. I know exactly what I want to wear and what looks good on me, and yet I am hard pressed to find it. The entire situation is completelly ridiculous.

Welcome to Boston. If you are larger than a size 12, please turn around and promptly retrun to your fatty fat hometown.

P.S.-- I have found some good sights for plus size clothing online. They are as follows:

www.alight.com

www.sizeappeal.com

P.P.S.-- Read Naomi Wolfe's book, The Beauty Myth if you want to learn more about how the Fashion and cosmetics industries exploit women.

time capsule from heaven - Sunday, Aug. 21, 2011
31 - Saturday, Mar. 15, 2008
Dead/Alive - Monday, Mar. 10, 2008
Do not trustTIAA-CREF-- they are fucking their customers - Friday, Jul. 28, 2006
Shilling - Tuesday, Jul. 11, 2006

Before After
Dieses ist, wer ich bin Le SAGA! Conform! O The Vanity! My birthday is March 15th.  Please buy me something. I am your host!

Anna/Female/26-30. Lives in United States/Massachusetts/Boston/Cambridge Harvard Square, speaks English. Spends 60% of daytime online. Uses a Faster (1M+) connection. And likes acting/music.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Massachusetts, Boston, Cambridge Harvard Square, English, Anna, Female, 26-30, acting, music.